About Your Spine

Dan Wood - Wednesday, October 09, 2013

The spine is the center point of each individuals body. Our spinal column supports the body's trunk and head while protecting the body's spinal cord. The spine is a chain of 24 bones called vertebrae that are separated by joints cushioned by intervertebral discs. 

Our vertebrae fall into 5 different categories based on shape function and position. Types of vertebrae from top to bottom:

Cervical (C1-C7)- These are the first 7 vertebrae of your spine and allow for maximum flexibility and range of motion.

Thoracic (T1-T12)- The thoracic vertebrae are located in the upper back and correspond to each pair of ribs.

Lumbar (L1-L5)- Lumbar vertebrae are located in your lower back and take on most of the weight from your trunk and head.

Sacrum- The sacrum is five fused vertebrae below the lumbar region to form one bone.

Coccyx- Four coccygeal vertebrae are fused together to make the coccyx or tailbone.

How's your spinal health? Remember, Even the slightest misalignment in the spine can cause many chronic conditions. Make sure you stay on top of your spinal health by stopping by and visiting Spinal Health Professionals located in Bemidji.